Down the Rabbit Hole (Is My Favorite Expression)

I love Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking-Glass because nothing makes sense. My life tends to be like that. I read into things way to much and then realize they mean nothing. People in this world and in Wonderland contradict themselves regularly. I feel just a little bit lost and out of place, like Alice. The Alice books make me feel right at home. You could say that these are some of the books that understand me. One of my favorite movies is Tim Burton’s Alice (I don’t care for the cartoon version as much, too cute) and one of my  favorite poems is “The Jabberwocky.” “The Jabberwocky”  is the only poem that I have memorized, and it is so lodged inside of my brain that I don’t think I will ever get it out. I say it to myself (silently) at concerts and contests as if to say, “The whole world is mad and you’re mad and it’s mad that you’re doing this, but who cares? It’s fun and exciting to be mad.” Really what I’m saying is,

“Twas brillig, and the slithy toves

Did gyre and gimble in the wabe;

All mimsy were the borogoves,

And the mome raths outgrabe.”

And I think about this:

Image

And I can interpret that whole stanza. No one has ever asked me to do it, though. When I do it anyway, people slowly disappear.

A lot of people don’t like Alice in Wonderland. I was reading some consumer reviews once and the complaints made me want to laugh. I understand not liking Alice, but some of the reasons were fairly funny.

  • There is no character development of Alice and no plot. There is no character development because this is a fairy tale. One reads fairy tales for the imagination and the interesting situations and characters and themes. I have never read a fairy tale that has any character development. Don’t feel like you have to relate to or like Alice. No one does.

Of course there’s no plot! That’s what makes it great! Alice falls from one thing to the next. She says the wrong thing and everyone hates her for no apparent reason. (Hasn’t that ever happened to you?) She is rushed along and has no control of anything. (Don’t you ever feel like that?) There is one thing that irritates me about the plot. It is the fact that it is all a dream. What a cop-out, Lewis Carroll!

  • Because of the lack of plot/character development, I can’t finish the book, so I try again every single year. First of all,  if you don’t like something, don’t read it! Second of all, Alice and Through the Looking-Glass put together are 233 pages. That’s including pictures and fairly large print. It won’t take you very long, and it’s not very hard. If you are trying year after year to read this, just sit down and have a few miserable hours. I believe you can do it!
  • There are too many weird things including, but not limited to, Alice talking to herself. If you think it’s so weird, don’t read it! And also, talking to yourself isn’t all that weird. You must hang out with a very select group of people.
  • Lewis Carrol was on drugs when he wrote this. First of all, I doubt it. Second of all, so what? Nietzsche was in an insane asylum when he wrote most of his important stuff, and we base a lot of modern philosophy off of him. In my opinion a good book is a good book, it doesn’t matter (usually) what the circumstances were for writing it.

I’m sure there are more reasons for disliking Alice in Wonderland; if you know of some, be sure to let me know. I don’t really mind that a lot of people dislike them. It makes these books feel more special to me.

Are you one of the few who likes Alice in Wonderland or do you hate it?

 

 

 

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Down the Rabbit Hole (Is My Favorite Expression)

  1. Caretaker

    Sadly, I’ve never read it. But your blog made me want to! I love that saying too, but I thought it was from the Martrix (ha-ha). You have a beautiful mind!

  2. I adore this book. The crazy nature of the story-telling makes me feel better about just page-dropping it and reading whatever selection I open it to. And people treating this book differently because they think Carroll was on drugs when he wrote it is completely ridiculous.

    • Shahrazad

      I have page-dropped several times with this book, but I always get stuck reading more than I meant to!

      I’m glad that you agree that it is ridiculous.

  3. Sherlock

    You know I share your love for this piece of liturature. In fact, my flat is starting to take on an Alice theme…hope my flatmate won’t mind.

  4. Queen Guinevere

    LOVE it! Actually, I don’t know if I’ve ever even read it. I think I have, but maybe I’ve only heard everyone else talk about it so much that I think I have. Who can’t relate to being rushed along out of control, talking to themselves, or being disliked for no reason at all? And who doesn’t like magic potions that cause you to shrink and enlarge, talking rabbits, crazy queens, mad hatters, and hooka-pipe-smoking caterpillars?

    • Shahrazad

      I really don’t know who wouldn’t like all of those things!

      And I’m glad you can relate to talking to yourself, only geniuses can. ;)

  5. I would deffinantly talk outloud all the time if I wasn’t so petrified of talking to anyone in the first place… ;) I liked how Alice did that and her air -headedness made her more funny and actually added to her charector!

    • Shahrazad

      Most people don’t like her being air-headed because they want her to be a good role-model. I’m glad you think it’s funny. (So do I)

Leave a Reply

